2014 DAKIN AWARD Call for Nominations






Every two years, the IEEE DEIS selects an individual for their outstanding, original technical contributions in advancing the science and technology of dielectrics and electrical insulation.  This award, which was first given in 1978, is named in honor of the late Thomas W. Dakin, one of the most distinguished scientists in this field.

The DEIS seeks nominations for the 2014 Dakin Award.  Nominations can be made by submitting an e-mail or letter to Clive Reed by the end of January 2014.  Nominations must provide the name of the nominee, his or her CV, and the proposed citation.  The nominator must also indicate at least three people who will endorse the nomination, and who will provide their support for the nomination directly to the undersigned.

Clive W. Reed

116 Woodhaven Drive

Scotia, New York 12302


Tel: +1 (518) 399-0414

E-Mail: [email protected]

Past Recipients of DEIS TW Dakin Award

1978             Tom Dakin

1980             Ray Bartnikas

1982             Harry Sharbaugh

1984             Wendell Starr

1986             Gerhard Sessler

1988             John Densley

1990             Robert Eichhorn

1992             Emanuel Brancato

1994             Dilip Das Gupta

1996             Dieter Kind

1998             Howard Wintle

2000             T. John Lewis

2002             Toshikatsu Tanaka

2004             Uno Gafvert

2006             Jim Timperly

2008             Gian Carlo Montanari      

2010             Steven Boggs

2012             Greg Stone