Entries by DEIS


Up-and-Coming Professionals – Russell Frost

DEIS is always searching for ways to share how different types of members engage with the organization. Every so often, DEIS invites members to share their experiences participating in DEIS events and activities. Contributions may be published in the Electrical Insulation Magazine. These contributions help create an additional dialogue between members; in the hopes of sharing […]


DEIS Member Survey

DEIS Member Survey – Electrical Insulation Magazine   DEIS Members & Electrical Magazine Recipients; The latest issue of the Electrical Insulation magazine has been finalized and is expected to be delivered shortly. You will notice a few subtle changes to the layout of the publication, including a new column, Young Professionals. In order to ensure […]


Call for DEIS Web Content Editor

Web Content Editor of the IEEE Dielectrics and Electrical Insulation Society Website   The Dielectrics and Electrical Insulation Society (DEIS) is seeking applicants for the position of Web Content Editor for its Website. The successful candidate will also hold a seat on the editorial board of the Electrical Insulation Magazine. Interested?  Here is what you will be […]


Vote now for DEIS AdCom (2019-2021) – ENDED

UPDATE: The voting period for this election has ended. Vote for the election of members to the DEIS Administrative Committee (AdCom) for a Three-Year Term 1 January 2019 to 31 December 2021. The IEEE DEIS Bylaws provide that six new members shall be elected annually to the Administrative Committee.  For the 2018 AdCom Member-at-Large election, […]


Call for Nominations: 2019 Eric O. Forster Award

Call for Nominations 2019 IEEE Eric O. Forster Distinguished Service Award Every two years, the IEEE DEIS selects an individual in recognition of sustained leadership, support, and contributions to the advancement of the field of electrical insulation. This award, which was first given in 1992, is named in honor of the late Eric O. Forster, […]


ICPADM 2018 Report

The 12th International Conference on the Properties and Applications of Dielectric Materials (ICPADM) was held in Xi’an, China, May 20-23, 2018. ICPADM started in Xi’an in 1985 with the initial aim to provide a venue for Chinese electrical insulation and dielectrics researchers to communicate their research activities with the rest of the world. The ICPADM […]


In Memory of Steve Boggs

Steven Allan Boggs 1946-2018 Dr. Steven Allan Boggs passed away on June 2, 2018 after a 6-month battle with inoperable brain cancer.  Steve was one of the brightest and most-innovative scientists in the field of dielectrics and electrical insulation.  His innovations will stand forever, and his legacy will be carried on through his students. Steve […]


In Memory of George Karady

George G. Karady 1930-2018 Dr. George Karady, IEEE Fellow, noted expert in the fields of power electronics and high voltage engineering, and a highly respected educator, passed away on June 17, 2018. George received his master’s and doctoral degrees in electrical engineering from the Technical University of Budapest. He was appointed Salt River Chair Professor […]


2018 IEEE Caixin Sun and Stan Grzybowski Awards

The IEEE Caixin Sun and Stan Grzybowski Awards have been established by the IEEE Dielectrics and Electrical Insulation Society (DEIS) and are open to IEEE members and to qualified scientists and engineers outside of IEEE. The awards are granted biennially (every two years) and consist of a prize and a plenary award lecture given at IEEE International Conference […]

2018 IEEE DEIS Bertinoro Summer School

4-Day Summer School on Dielectric Interfaces Organized by: IEEE Dielectrics and Electrical Insulation Society Bertinoro, Italy 9-13 September 2018 To promote scientific debate between junior researchers in the field of electrical insulation and dielectrics, IEEE DEIS organizes the 4th Summer School on Dielectric Interfaces in September 2018. Objective The objectives of the IEEE DEIS Summer […]