2018 IEEE Caixin Sun and Stan Grzybowski Awards

The IEEE Caixin Sun and Stan Grzybowski Awards have been established by the IEEE Dielectrics and Electrical Insulation Society (DEIS) and are open to IEEE members and to qualified scientists and engineers outside of IEEE. The awards are granted biennially (every two years) and consist of a prize and a plenary award lecture given at IEEE International Conference on High Voltage Engineering and Applications (ICHVE).  The awards can be granted only once to a specific individual and are as follows:

IEEE Caixin Sun and Stan Grzybowski Young-professional Achievement Award is addressed to young researchers or engineers which are involved in challenging topics in the fields of high voltages or dielectric materials and reached the first significant results. This Award will be granted to individuals with a minimum of three years and up to ten years of career experience in research, engineering or innovation after completing their Bachelor’s degree.

IEEE Caixin Sun and Stan Grzybowski Lifetime Achievement Award is addressed to individuals with an outstanding career in research, engineering or innovation in the fields of high voltages engineering or dielectric materials. This Award is addressed to those having a minimum of twenty years long experience certified by publications, patents and/or other significant achievements.

Prizes: Each of the awards consists of an honorarium of 5000 US$ and a plaque presented at the ICHVE. The awardee must present a plenary lecture at the ICHVE. Travel costs to the ICHVE are not covered. The award fund is initially 100% supported by the Caixin Sun Foundation of Education of Chongqing University, China.

2018 Winners

The Award Committee of DEIS has recently decided that the winners of the 2018 IEEE Caixin Sun and Stan Grzybowski Awards are respectively Yasuhiro Tanaka for Lifetime Achievement Award and Qi Li for Young-professional Achievement Award.

Qi Li – Young-professional Achievement Award

Dr. Qi Li is currently an Associate Professor at the Department of Electrical Engineering of Tsinghua University, Beijing, China. Dr. Qi Li’s research is focused on novel nanodielectrics for electrical energy storage and conversion. His main scientific achievements include the design and synthesis of state-of-the-art high-temperature polymer nanocomposites for electrical energy storage in capacitor applications, the contributions to the understanding of dielectric properties of polymeric materials under high electric fields and elevated temperatures, as well as the development of new material approaches to ferroelectric polymer nanocomposites with tailored electrical properties. Up to date, he has published more than 50 papers in peer-reviewed journals including Nature, PNAS, Nature Communications, Advanced Materials, etc. He received the MRS Postdoctoral Awards in 2016 and was selected to The Thousand Talents Plan Recruitment Program for Young Professionals of China in 2017.



Yasuhiro Tanaka – Lifetime Achievement Award

Yasuhiro Tanaka is a professor of Tokyo City University, Japan, and he is the successor of Prof. Tatsuo Takada, the inventor of PEA (Pulsed Electro-acoustic) method. His major research field has concentrated on the development of the PEA space charge measurement system. He has applied this system to observe the behavior of various polymeric insulating materials, such as polyolefins, polyimide, and epoxies. He especially focused on the effect of so-called packet-like charge formation in polyethylene and its impact on electrical breakdown under high dc voltage stress. He proved that an effective suppression of space charge accumulation can be achieved by adding to polyethylene an inorganic nano-sized filler. His outstanding research achievements have stimulated many researchers working on the development of cable insulating materials for HVDC applications. Present research of Yasuhiro Tanaka concentrates on the development of space charge measurement system operating at high temperatures and under ultra-high electric fields, gamma-ray irradiation or electron-beam irradiation in a vacuum.

Yasuhiro Tanaka has led for the last five years the Japanese research activities on insulating materials as a chair of Technical Committee of Dielectrics and Insulating Materials in IEEJ (The Institute of Electrical Engineers of Japan). He organized during this period two international symposia in 2014 and 2017 (International Symposium on Electrical Insulating Materials – ISEIM), where he introduced special sessions dedicated to advanced numerical simulations of polymeric materials. As a member of international standardization committees, he contributed to the development of IEC technical specification 62758: “Calibration of space charge measuring equipment based on pulsed electro-acoustic measurement principle”, for which he was awarded by IEC in 2013 (IEC1906 Award). He still continues this activity as a convener of an IEC working group (TC112 WG8) preparing technical specification on space charge measurements at high temperatures. Yasuhiro Tanaka is a member of CIGRE SC D1 (Materials and Emerging Test Techniques) and a member of the IEEE DEIS Administrative Committee.