2020 AdCom Call for Nominations

IEEE Dielectrics and Electrical Insulation Society (DEIS)



AdCom manages the affairs of the IEEE Dielectrics and Electrical Insulation Society (DEIS). It is made up of 18 members-at-large, plus 6 ex-officio members. The DEIS Nominations and Appointment Committee is inviting nominations for President, Administrative Vice President, Technical Vice President and 6 AdCom Members-at-Large of DEIS. The persons nominated must be IEEE-DEIS members in good standing. Traditionally, AdCom has maintained a balance in representation between the industrial and academic communities. We are also trying to achieve representation from all the three main world regions where our members come from: Africa/Europe, The Americas, and Asia/Pacific.

AdCom Members-at-Large:
Each year, 6 members-at-large are elected to serve a 3-year term on the DEIS AdCom. No Member-at-Large can serve more than two consecutive terms. AdCom meets twice a year and Members-at-Large are strongly encouraged to attend most meetingsjhj.  IEEE DEIS does not cover travel expenses to attend AdCom meetings. Candidates for Members-at-Large will be elected by the membership of the Society by electronic or postal ballot conducted by IEEE staff. The persons elected or appointed will begin their 3-year service on 1 January 2021. The deadline for the Members-at-Large nominations is 4 July 2020. Self-nominations are permitted. Members-at-Large candidates should provide a picture, a short bio, and a candidate statement. Examples from previous elections will be e-mailed to potential candidates upon request.

DEIS Officers:
President, Administrative Vice President, and Technical Vice President are the Officers of the society and serve a 1-year term and are eligible to serve for a second term.
The Officers for 2021 will be appointed by AdCom at its meeting in the autumn of 2020.
The deadline for nominations for the Officers is 31 August 2020. Self-nominations are also permitted.
Each nominee will be contacted by the Nominations & Appointments Committee and will be asked to submit information relevant to the election and appointment process.

The following information is needed for each person nominated:
Name (Last, First):
Position held / Institution name:
DEIS position being nominated for:
Phone number:
E-mail address:

Please send your nominations by the respective deadline to:
Reimund Gerhard
Chair, DEIS Nominations & Appointments Committee
[email protected]