2021 IEEE Eric O. Forster Distinguished Service Award – Call for Nominations

Every two years the IEEE DEIS selects an individual in recognition of sustained leadership, support, and contributions to the advancement of the field of electrical insulation and dielectrics. This award, which was first given in 1992, is named in honor of the late Eric O. Forster for his distinguished service on behalf of DEIS. The award is restricted to DEIS members. It is made biennially, generally at the Conference on Electrical Insulation and Dielectric Phenomena, although the recipient has the prerogative of requesting that the award be made at an alternative DEIS-sponsored event.  

Dr. Eric Forster was a tireless volunteer of the IEEE DEIS during its formative years, and held many posts including: conference chair, DEIS treasurer and DEIS vice-president at various times from 1974 to 1990. He was also instrumental in the creation of three DEIS conferences: ICDL, ICPADM and ISD.  Dr. Forster spent most of his career working for Exxon studying dielectric liquids.

The DEIS seeks nominations for the 2021 Eric O. Forster Award. The nominator should clearly outline the contributions made by the nominee to the DEIS. The nominator should also provide the nominee’s CV and the written support for the nomination of at least two DEIS members.

Nominations can be submitted via e-mail to the Chair of the DEIS Awards Committee, Greg Stone at [email protected]The deadline for nominations is January 31, 2021.

Past Recipients of DEIS Distinguished Service Award

1979Joseph Perkins1987Arend van Roggen
1981Ken Mathes1988John Tanaka
1983Eric Forster1989Phil Alexander
1985Emanuel Brancato1990Scott Hurley, Jr.
  1991Edward Boulter

In 1992 the award was renamed the Award Eric O. Forster Distinguished Service Award

1992Frank Campbell1997Sachio Yasafuku
1993Gregory Stone1998Keith Nelson
1994Ronald Sampson1999Clive Reed
1995Tor Orbeck2000Rueben Hackam
1996Alan Cookson2001Aime S. DeReggi
  2002Yoshimichi Ohki

In 2003 it was decided to give the award every two years.  No award was given in 2003

2005John J. Shea2013William McDermid
2007Alexander Bulinski2015Hulya Kirkici
2009John Berberian2017Resi Zarb
2011Robert Hebner2019Frank Hegeler