2022 Dakin Award Call for Nominations



Every two years, the IEEE Dielectrics and Electrical Insulation Society selects an individual for their outstanding, original contributions in advancing the technology of dielectrics and electrical insulation. The DEIS is now seeking nominations for the 2022 Dakin Award. Nominations can be made by submitting an e-mail or letter to Greg Stone by the end of January 2022.  Nominations must provide the name of the nominee, his or her CV, why the nominee is worthy of the award, and the proposed citation. The nominator must also indicate at least three people who will endorse the nomination and who will provide their letter of support for the nomination directly to Greg Stone.

This award, which was first given in 1978, is named in honor of the late Thomas W. Dakin, one of the most distinguished scientists in our field.  Tom Dakin was a life-long employee of Westinghouse Electric and was a key figure in the development of new insulation systems for capacitors and rotating machines.  He was also one of the first to recognize that thermal aging of electrical insulation followed the Arrhenius model for chemical reactions, and that voltage aging followed a power law model.  Dr. Dakin was involved with the creation of many IEEE standards concerned with insulation aging, and was very active in Cigre working groups.

The Dakin Award winner will receive a plaque and an honorarium of $5000 US.  The Award is funded from a donation by the family of Thomas Dakin, as well as contributions from the IEEE DEIS.

Greg Stone; IEEE DEIS Awards and Recognition Committee Chair

E-mail: [email protected] 

Past Recipients of TW Dakin Award

1978      Tom Dakin    2000   T. John Lewis
1980      Ray Bartnikas                            2002   Toshikatsu Tanaka
1982      Harry Sharbaugh                         2004   Uno Gafvert
1984      Wendell Starr                                2006   James Timperley
1986      Gerhard Sessler                              2008   Gian Carlo Montanari
1988      John Densley                                   2010   Steven Boggs
1990      Robert Eichhorn                              2012   Greg Stone
1992      Emanuel Brancato                               2014   John Fothergill
1994      Dilip Das Gupta                                    2016   Abderrahmane Beroual
1996     Dieter Kind                                            2018   Len Dissado
1998     Howard Wintle                                                                                  2020   Gary Stevens