Call for Nominations – 2023 AdCom

IEEE Dielectrics and Electrical Insulation Society (DEIS)



AdCom manages the affairs of the IEEE Dielectrics and Electrical Insulation Society (DEIS). It is made up of 18 members-at-large, plus 6 ex-officio members.
The DEIS Nominations and Appointment Committee is inviting nominations for president, administrative vice-president, technical vice-president and 6 AdCom members-at-large.
The persons nominated must be IEEE-DEIS members in good standing (affiliate members are not eligible). Traditionally, AdCom has maintained a balance in representation between the industrial and academic communities. In addition, we are trying to achieve representation from all regions of the world: The Americas (regions 1 through 7 and 9), Africa/Europe (region 8), and Asia/Pacific (region 10). Finally, we strive to enhance the diversity of our governing bodies.

AdCom Members-at-Large:
Each year, 6 members-at-large are elected to serve a 3-year term on the DEIS AdCom. Members-at-Large may not serve more than two consecutive terms.

AdCom meets at least twice a year, and members-at-large are strongly encouraged to attend meetings in person. Please note that DEIS usually does not cover travel expenses.
Candidates for member-at-large positions will be elected by the membership of the Society by electronic or postal ballot conducted by IEEE staff. The persons elected or appointed will begin their 3-year service on 1 January 2024.
The deadline for the member-at-large nominations is 1 June 2023. Self-nominations are permitted, but the final slate of candidates will be selected by the Nominations and Appointments Committee with an emphasis on diversity.
Member-at-large candidates should provide a picture, a short bio, and a candidate statement. Examples from previous elections will be provided to potential candidates upon request.

DEIS Officers:
The officers of the society are the president, administrative vice-president, and technical vice-president. The officers serve a 1-year term and are eligible for reappointment to a second term. The officers for 2024 will be appointed by AdCom at its meeting in the autumn of 2023.
The deadline for officer nominations is 1 August 2023. Self-nominations are permitted.
Each nominee will be contacted by the Nominations & Appointments Committee and will be asked to submit information relevant to the election and appointment process.

The following information is needed for each person nominated:

Name (last and first):

Position held / Institution name:
DEIS position being nominated for:
Phone number:
E-mail address:

Please submit your nominations by the respective deadline to:

Paul C. Gaberson
Chair, IEEE DEIS Nominations & Appointments Committee

[email protected]